top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemilesofsteps

How I got E-visa to India? 5 big advice!

Updated: Aug 14, 2020

If you are applying for an E-visa for the first time, I believe you might be also confused, as I was, some time ago. This post will help you to avoid unfortunate consequences, and make you feel more confident with your application. If you are not applying, you can read this post, for a bit of fun. This is a short story of my application and what happened after I thought I have an E-visa :)



This is how everything started:


Few months before trip


As I mentioned in a previous post, I promised that one day I would go to India. I'm always saying that is better to read before the trip and be prepared for the unknown (as much is possible). This time I was preparing myself for a trip to another continent where I've never been before, Asia.

I didn't know how the visa application looks also I didn't have anyone around me who visited India, to ask for advice. From other side I was going alone, so I had to do huge research by myself, and even with my research CRAZY things happened. (Check my YouTube video) Looking for advice I reached to a few travel groups for help. I've asked them about Indian E-visa. People warned me to be careful with fake pages, but also to not worry too much because everything's really easy to do!

Visa or ticket? What should I buy first?


I thought that E-visa is better to get first, but because everyone of us are looking for this perfect flight deal (me too), I didn't wanted to miss an opportunity, to buy a flight ticket at a good price. At the same time I wanted my visa to be, for as long period as possible, because you are not able to choose the starting day. Turned that I bought the tickets first with a hope that I'll do not have problem with visa. Ticket cost me 576 British Pounds, and after almost 2 months I applied for a visa to just in case have time for reapplication.


Application for E-visa


To apply for an E-visa I visited page https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/evisa/ which is a main website for online applications. I knew that the visa can be obtained for a period of thirty days, one year or five years. A monthly visa entitles you to enter twice, with one and five years you may cross the border many times, but one stay cannot exceed 90 days. I was traveling before regulations changed, so I needed to pay for my 1 year E-visa 80 USD.


Fees since September 2019:

  • 30-day e-visa from April to June: USD 10

  • 30-day e-Visa from July to March: USD 25

  • 1-year e-Visa: USD 40

  • Five-year e-Visa: USD 80.


After filling the form with really specific questions, even about where does my parents work. I finally pressed apply, done payment and with happy and bit anxious face I was waiting for an answer. Within 24 hours I got surprisingly fast reply, that my visa was granted. I though that now everything is good, and as people from travel group said I need to pick it up in India. So I haven't print any documents, and I though an email will be enough, as my confirmation (picture below), to pick documents/ stamp in India.

My video on Youtube & my real time reaction:


Oh! I have a problem, I DON'T HAVE E-VISA, and I'm already in India!


I was traveling to India from London/ Heathrow, and border control people started to ask me about my "weird looking e-visa". After moment they let me go without any problems, then I had stopover in Rome and I've got one more time strange eye-contact, but I was allowed to continued my trip. (The video of my trip to India - link below). I didn't know what could go wrong because I followed advices, and tips. When I finally landed in India, I heard that my e-visa wasn't legal, and my application number didn't exist in their system. At this moment I wanted to connect to wifi and show them my confirmation, which I have not printed, but I couldn't connect, so I didn't have possibility to show them an email with GRANDED E-visa. I was waiting for some good news, but with time just more people was coming to my window, thinking what should they do. After around 20 min they went out from the customer window with my passport, shortly after came back saying "we found your E-visa". They gave me papers to fill up, explained me rules of visa, and they let me go (this paper is in my video). Honestly I have no idea what happened, If I had visa or not, or If they just grand me a new one ( I don't know if is even possible).

Because of what happened to me, I prepared for you today 5 huge and important advice! Have a look, and do not let yourself to stress much! In my case could be worse I could be send back to Europe, where I didn't have a room to live in! I think that was a nice lesson for me, and I will remember that anything can happen. Even with my readings before I wasn't ready for that... Life is full of surprises.




5 Big advice before and after you apply for a visa:

1. Always check if the website is right!


Unfortunately it happens, many times you can find similar website to the original one. They are asking same questions, you are filling up the form and your money disappear. Since I don't know where are you from I can't promise, that your country have same process or even more, the possibility to apply for E-visa.



2. Last moment is not best idea


Many people like to live the way - there is always enough time to do something. From my experience I can tell you, no is not! While you are planning your trip and application for visa, take in count time and deadlines to not have unnecessary surprise or rejections.



3. Take a picture of you documents!

Having a copy it is something what you should understand that is necessary wherever you are planning to go. Take a picture of your documents and have them in your phone. Best is to have one copy on an email, and other physically in the device. Why? Not everywhere you can have an access to Internet. For example, in Delhi airport I couldn't use internet because my number wasn't Indian. Local restrictions are surprising trust me! If you want, you can also print copy of documents or visa application, just in case you don't have access to your phone - That's happened to me!



4. Read about place where you go


Reading about place is a key to know what you can expect. Process of E-visa, vaccines, culture, language, food, necessary own first-kit. This point could be described at least for 2 pages or another big post. If you want more information about how to be prepared to India you can let me know in a comment or my social media. Remember that not always you can read about everything what can happen, it is impossible to be ready for 100%, but is possible to be ready 90% (like that you have 10% for unexpected and really teachable moments, which for sure you will remember for longer. In case those moments, do not need to be extreme or bad, in my opinion they are most of the time valuable). :)


5. Be always polite


Wherever you will go on your trip remember that now you are the guest in someone's world. Countries have different religion, regulations, culture and languages, respecting others cost you nothing, but it is really important value to share. Be polite and kind, and for sure everyone around will look at you different and more pleasant. People are more willing to help when we smile and when we are sending good vibes.



Have a nice, safe adventure. If you have any nice story what happened to you in India or any other place, leave a comment or write to me. I'm really curious about your stories.


Be sure to check my Social Media!

@MilesOfSteps




Hashtags:


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page